WGIUPD GENERAL INFORMATION SYSTEM

DIVISION: Office of Health Insurance Programs

GIS 17 MA/19

12/4/17 **PAGE** 1

TO: Local District Commissioners, Medicaid Directors

FROM: Judith Arnold, Director

Division of Eligibility and Marketplace Integration

SUBJECT: Medicaid Regional Rates for Calculating Transfer Penalty Periods for 2018

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2018

CONTACT PERSON: Local District Support Unit

Upstate (518) 474-8887 NYC (212) 417-4500

The purpose of this General Information System (GIS) message is to inform local departments of social services of the year 2018 Medicaid regional nursing home rates which must be used when calculating a transfer of assets penalty period for coverage of nursing facility services. This is in accordance with 96 ADM-8, "OBRA '93 Provisions on Transfers and Trusts" and 06 OMM/ADM-5, "Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 – Long-Term Care Medicaid Eligibility Changes." These rates are based on average private pay nursing home costs in each of the seven regions in the State. Districts must use the regional rate in effect as of the date of application or the date of request for an increase in coverage for the region in which the facility is located.

Broome Cayuga Chenango Cortland Herkimer	Central Jefferson Lewis Madison Oneida Onondaga	\$9,722 Oswego St. Lawrence Tioga Tompkins	Northern Metro Dutchess Orange Putnam Rockland Sullivan	ropolitan Ulster Westches	\$12,428 ter
Northeastern \$10,719		New York City \$12,319		\$12,319	
Albany	Fulton	Saratoga	Bronx	Queens	
Clinton	Greene	Schenectady	Kings (Brooklyn)	Richmond	d (Staten Island)
Columbia	Hamilton	Schoharie	New York (Manhattan)		
Delaware Essex Franklin	Montgomery Otsego Rensselaer	Warren Washington	Long Islan Nassau Suffolk	d	\$13,053
	Western	\$10,239	Rochester		\$11,692
Allegany		Niagara	Chemung	Seneca	
Cattaraugus		Orleans	Livingston	Steuben	
Chautauqua		Wyoming	Monroe	Wayne	
Erie			Ontario	Yates	
Genesee			Schuyler		