WGIUPD GENERAL INFORMATION SYSTEM

DIVISION: Office of Health Insurance Programs

GIS 16 MA/16

12/9/16 **PAGE** 1

TO: Local District Commissioners, Medicaid Directors

FROM: Judith Arnold, Director

Division of Eligibility and Marketplace Integration

SUBJECT: Medicaid Regional Rates for Calculating Transfer Penalty Periods for 2017

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2017

CONTACT PERSON: Local District Support Unit

Upstate (518) 474-8887 NYC (212) 417-4500

The purpose of this General Information System (GIS) message is to inform local departments of social services of the year 2017 Medicaid regional rates which must be used when calculating a transfer of assets penalty period for coverage of nursing facility services. This is in accordance with 96 ADM-8, "OBRA '93 Provisions on Transfers and Trusts" and 06 OMM/ADM-5, "Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 – Long-Term Care Medicaid Eligibility Changes." These rates are based on average private pay nursing home costs in each of the seven regions in the State. Districts must use the regional rate in effect as of the date of application or the date of request for an increase in coverage for the region in which the facility is located.

Broome Cayuga Chenango Cortland Herkimer	Central Jefferson Lewis Madison Oneida Onondaga	\$9,511 Oswego St. Lawrence Tioga Tompkins	Northern Met Dutchess Orange Putnam Rockland Sullivan	tropolitan Ulster Westchess	\$12,198 ter
No Albany Clinton Columbia Delaware Essex Franklin	Fulton Fulton Greene Hamilton Montgomery Otsego Rensselaer	\$10,242 Saratoga Schenectady Schoharie Warren Washington	New York Bronx Kings (Brooklyn) New York (Manhattan) Long Islan Nassau Suffolk	Queens Richmond	\$12,157 d (Staten Island) \$12,811
Allegany Cattaraugus Chautauqua Erie Genesee	Western	\$10,078 Niagara Orleans Wyoming	Rochester Chemung Livingston Monroe Ontario Schuyler	Seneca Steuben Wayne Yates	\$11,237