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I. Introduction 
 
The New York State Department of Health (Department) is issuing this Solicitation of Interest 
(SOI) under the Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program, which is 

modeled after the National Health Service Corps (NHSC).  As set forth in Public Health Law 
(PHL) §§ 923 and 924, PCSC is a service-obligated loan repayment program that is designed to 
increase the supply of certain clinicians in underserved areas. 
 

Clinicians eligible to apply under the program are: 

• Dentists  

• Dental Hygienists 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Physician Assistants 

• Midwives 

• Clinical Psychologists 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers 

• Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists 

• Licensed Mental Health Counselors 
 

Clinicians must commit to practice at an Active NHSC Approved Site.  In addition, clinicians 
must demonstrate that they are or will be working in primary care or behavioral health and in an 
outpatient or other eligible setting as defined further herein.   
 

Up to $1,500,000 in funding is available to support new awards under this SOI. Up to $72,000 is 
available for dentists and up to $36,000 is available for the other primary care providers, not to 
exceed the amount of the individual’s qualifying educational debt, in return for a three-year 
commitment to practice at an NHSC Approved Site.   
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II. Minimum Qualifications 

Only dentists, dental hygienists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, midwives, clinical 
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed marriage and family therapists, and 

licensed mental health counselors that meet the criteria set forth below are eligible to apply for 
PCSC funding through this Solicitation of Interest. 
 

A clinician is eligible for a PCSC award for the period January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2026 

to repay qualified educational debt if the following requirements are met:  
 
1. The clinician must be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien holding 

an I-155 or I-551 card. 

 
2. The clinician must begin employment at the intended worksite on or before January 1, 

2024. 
 

3. The clinician must complete an Employment Letter using the format/text provided in 
Attachment 5: Employment Letter template.  The Employment Letter must be on the 
employer’s letterhead, signed by an employee with the authority to represent the 
employer with respect to human resources matters, including the Human Resources 

Director, the Chief Executive Officer or the Chief Operating Officer. 
 

4. The clinician must be licensed to practice in New York State at the time of application and 
attach and submit the appropriate license as Attachment 8. 

 
➢ Physician Assistants 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 

registration (pursuant to Education Law Article 131-B) to practice as a physician assistant 
(PA) in the State of New York.  Only PAs who will provide primary care or behavioral 
health services – adult primary care, family primary care, pediatric, psychiatry, mental 
health, geriatrics, and women’s health – are eligible to apply for PCSC. 

 
➢ Nurse Practitioners 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 

registration to practice as a registered nurse in the State of New York AND a certificate to 
practice as a nurse practitioner (pursuant to Education Law § 6910) in the State of New 
York.  Only NPs who will provide primary care or behavioral health services – adult 
primary care, family primary care, pediatric, psychiatry, mental health, geriatrics, and 

women’s health – are eligible to apply for PCSC.  
 

➢ Midwives 
 

Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 
registration (pursuant to Education Law § 6955) to practice as a licensed nurse midwife in 
the State of New York.   
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➢ Dentists 
 

Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 

registration (pursuant to Education Law Article 133) to practice as a dentist in the State of 
New York in general or pediatric dentistry.  Only dentists who will provide general or 
pediatric dentistry are eligible for a PCSC award.  Any time spent providing other 
services, such as endodontic, periodontic or orthodontic care, is ineligible for loan 

repayment funds. 
  

➢ Dental Hygienists 
 

Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license (pursuant 
to Education Law § 6609) and registration to practice as a dental hygienist in the State of 
New York.  Only dental hygienists who will provide general or pediatric dental hygiene 
services are eligible for a PCSC award. 

 
➢ Psychologists 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 

registration (pursuant to Education Law § 7603) to practice as a psychologist in the State 
of New York.   

 
➢ Licensed Clinical Social Workers 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 
registration (pursuant to Education Law § 7702) to practice as a clinical social worker in 
the State of New York.   

 
➢ Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 

registration (pursuant to Education Law § 8403) to practice as a marriage and family 
therapist in the State of New York.   

 
➢ Licensed Mental Health Counselors 

 
Requirements:  A current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted license and 
registration (pursuant to Education Law § 8402) to practice as a licensed mental health 
counselor in the State of New York. 

 
5. The clinician must be in good standing, meaning that he or she: 

 
a. Has not been excluded from or terminated by the federal Medicare or Medicaid 

programs (see http://www.omig.ny.gov); 
 

b. For Physician Assistant Applicants Only: Has not been disciplined by the New York 
State Board for Professional Medical Conduct (see 

https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct/https://www.health.ny.gov/professi
onals/doctors/conduct); 

http://www.omig.ny.gov/
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct/
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct
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c. For Applicants who are not Physician Assistants:  Does not have an enforcement 

action from the New York State Board of Regents (see 

https//www.op.nysed/verification-search) Note:  conduct rules are listed by profession 
at https://www.op.nysed.gov/title8/rules-board-regents/part-29  
 

d. Is neither under indictment for, nor has been convicted of , any felony as defined by 

New York State Penal Code. 
 

Note: to determine if a crime is a felony: 

• Go to this website: http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO: 

• Click on PEN (which is next to Penal) 

• Click on the Article Number next to the crime in question (for example: 
Article 177 for Health Care Fraud) 

• Click on the relevant sub-article (for example: 177.25 for Health Care Fraud 
in the first degree) 

• The description will indicate if the crime is a misdemeanor or felony, and its 
class (for example: Health Care Fraud in the first degree is a class B felony).  

 
e. Has not had their professional clinical license revoked in any state or territory in the 

United States. 
 

6. The clinician must not be in breach of a health professional service obligation to the 
federal government, any state government, or a local government. 

 
7. The clinician must not have any judgment liens arising from debt to the federal 

government or any state government. 
 

8. The clinician must not be fulfilling an obligation under any state or federal loan repayment 
program – including the Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program -- which 

overlaps or coincides with the three-year PCSC service obligation.  
 

9. On the date of award, the health care site where the clinician will be employed must be 
an NHSC Active Site with a HPSA score of 1 or more for the applicant’s professional 

discipline, as explained in Attachment 6, and evidenced by submission of Attachment 7. 
 
10. The applicant must not have previously received, or currently be receiving, an award from 

the Primary Care Service Corps.  
 

11. If selected to receive a Primary Care Service Corps award, the applicant agrees to 
complete and submit participant surveys sent to them by the New York State Department 
of Health.   
 

12. If applicant is selected to receive a Primary Care Service Corps award, the applicant’s 
employer agrees to complete and submit Employment Verification forms and 
Administrator surveys sent to them by the New York State Department of Health. 

 

13. Clinicians must meet the following weekly hours of work requirements: 

https://www.op.nysed.gov/title8/rules-board-regents/part-29
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO
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Except for FULL-TIME DENTISTS, clinical practice is defined as at least 20 hours per 
week for a minimum of 45 weeks per service year.  The 20 hours per week may be 

compressed into no less than two work-days per week, with no more than 12 hours of 
work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  Participants do not receive service credit 
for hours worked over the required 20 hours per week, and excess hours cannot be 
applied to any other work week.  Time spent “on call” will not count towards the 

service requirement, except to the extent the provider is directly serving patients 
during that period. 

 
For all health professionals, except as noted in bold below: 

 

• At least 16 of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient 
care in the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) 
specified in the clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent 
providing direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s) or providing 
direct patient care in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as 
directed by the approved service site(s) or performing practice-related administrative 

activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of 
the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a 

total of four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 
 

For providers of geriatric services, behavioral health services, and certified nurse 

midwives: 
 

• At least 11 of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient 
care in the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) 

specified in the clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining nine (9) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent 
providing direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s), or providing 
direct patient care in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as 

directed by the approved service site(s) or performing practice-related administrative 
activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of 
the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a 
total of four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

 
For physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and certified nurse midwives serving in 

Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs): 
 

• At least eight (8) of the minimum 20 hours per week much be spent providing direct 
patient care or teaching, mentoring or serving as a preceptor in the CAH-affiliated 

outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) specified in the clinician’s executed contract, 
during normally scheduled office hours. 
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• The remaining 12 hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing 
direct patient care or teaching, mentoring, or serving as a preceptor at the CAH’s 

skilled nursing facility or swing bed unit, or performing practice-related administrative 
activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of 
the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a 
total of four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

 
For FULL-TIME dentists, clinical practice is defined as a minimum of 40 hours per 

week, for a minimum of 45 weeks each service year. The 40 hours per week may be 
compressed into no less than four (4) days per week, with no more than 12 hours of 

work to be performed in any 24‐hour period.  Participants do not receive service 
credit for hours worked over the required 40 hours per week, and excess hours 
cannot be applied to any other work week. Also, time spent “on call” will not be 
counted towards the service requirement, except to the extent the provider is 
directly serving patients during that period: 

 

• At least 32 of the minimum 40 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient 
care or teaching in the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service 
site(s) specified in the clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office 

hours. 

• The remaining eight (8) hours of the minimum 40 hours per week must be spent 
providing direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s), providing 
direct patient care in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as 

directed by the approved service site(s), or performing practice‐related administrative 
activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed eight (8) hours of the 

minimum 40 hours per week.  

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) at the approved 
service site shall not exceed eight (8) hours of the minimum 40 hours per week. 

 

The following table summarizes the weekly hour requirements: 
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Table 1: Weekly Hour Requirements 
 

Profession/ Setting 

Max 

Patient 

Care 

Onsite 

Min 

Patient 

Care 

Onsite 

Max 

Patient 

Care 

Offsite 

Min 

Patient 

Care 

Offsite 

Max 

Teachi

ng 

Min 

Teachi

ng 

Max 

Admin 

Min 

Admin 

Min 

Week 

Total 

All health 
professionals 
(including 
dentists) except 
as noted below 

20 16 4 0 4 0 4 0 20 

Geriatric 
Providers and 
Midwives 

20 11 9 0 4 0 4 0 20 

Geriatric 
Providers, 
Behavioral 
Health 
Providers, and 
Midwives 

20 11 9 0 4 0 4 0 20 

PAs, NPs, and 
Midwives at 
CAHs 

20 8 12 0 4 0 4 0 20 

Full Time 
Dentists 

40 24 8 0 8 0 8 0 40 

 
 

III. Project Narrative 
 
Up to $72,000 is available for dentists (for full time practice) and up to $36,000 is available 

for the other primary care providers, not to exceed the amount of the individual’s qualifying 
educational debt, in return for a three-year commitment to practice at an NHSC Approved 
Site referenced herein as the “PCSC service obligation period”.  To be considered for 
funding, applicants must meet the eligibility requirements outlined in Section II (Minimum 

Qualifications). 

 
A. Use of Funds 

 

One-hundred percent of PCSC Award funds must be applied to qualified educational 
debt. 
 
For purposes of this SOI, “qualified educational debt” means any outstanding amounts 

remaining on student loans that were used by the clinician to pay graduate or 
undergraduate tuition or related educational expenses, where such loans were made by 
or guaranteed by the federal or state government or made by a lending or educational 
institution approved under Title IV of the federal Higher Education Act.  Applicants must 

include educational loan statements dated no more than 30 days prior to submission (to 
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be uploaded as Attachment 3).  Such statements will be forwarded to the New York State 
Higher Education Services Corporation (HESC) to verify the existence and amount of 
qualified education debt.  Applicants must complete Attachment 4 to give consent for 

HESC to disclose any loan information to the Department. No PCSC award shall be 
made in excess of the outstanding amount of educational debt as verified by HESC.  
Awardees will be required to submit educational loan statements within 60 days of award 
payment to ensure that payments were applied to qualified educational loans.  

 
Please note: Awardees are not allowed to hold their PCSC award payments in private 
accounts for an extended period of time.  All contract disbursements must be applied to 
the pre-approved outstanding educational debt within a reasonable time frame.  If you are 

not able or willing to apply these funds, you must return all prior disbursements of grant 
funds not applied to the repayment of eligible student loan debt to the State.  The 
Department will not be able to disburse any future funds until educational loan repayment 
statements verifying that prior funds have been applied are received.  

 
B. Application Limits 

 
No more than one application will be accepted from a single clinician.  If a clinician 

submits more than one application, only the application with the most recent email time 
stamp date will be accepted and reviewed.  All other applications will be disqualified and 
will not be reviewed. 

 

C. Award Limits 
 
The award limit for the Primary Care Service Corp Loan Repayment Program for primary 
care providers is $36,000 for a three-year contract, unless the awardee is a full time 

dentist, in which case the award limit is $72,000 for a three-year contract. 
 

D. Default 

There are significant financial consequences in the event a clinician fails to complete their 
three-year PCSC service obligation. The default penalties are provided in Attachment 9 – 
Default Penalty Attestation. 

In the event that the Applicant, through any cause, fails to perform any of the terms, 
covenants or promises of any contract resulting from this SOI, the Department, acting for 

and on behalf of the State, shall thereupon have the right to terminate the contract by 
giving notice in writing of the fact and date of such termination to the Applicant. 

 
E. Contract Modifications 

 
Awardees may be permitted to change the service location of the contract, or defer the 
PCSC service obligation period, as described below. 

 

1. Change of Location: 
 

Obligated clinicians are permitted to change their service locations, provided that:  
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1) the clinician interested in changing locations notifies the Department in writing 
prior to the change;  

2) the new service location is an NHSC Active site in York State with a HPSA score 

of 1 or more in the awardee’s professional discipline; and  
3) the Department approves the change prior to the awardee changing job sites.  
4) If the site change is approved by the Department, an Attachment 5 – Employment 

Letter for the new work site(s) must be submitted by the appropriate administrator 

of the new work site(s) within 30 days of execution of the employment contract. 
 
2. Request to Defer Obligation: 
 

• Clinicians who request to defer their PCSC service obligations for reasonable 
cause may submit a request in writing to the Department. 
 

• Examples of reasonable cause may include: maternity or paternity leave, personal 

or family illness, military service, etc. 
 

• The decision to permit a deferral will be solely at the discretion of the Department. 

 

• Any deferral period granted by the Department will be added to the obligated 
practitioner’s term obligation. 

 

IV. How to Apply 

 
Written questions will be accepted until 4:00 p.m. on October 19, 2023.  All questions should 
be submitted electronically to the email address:  sch_loan@health.ny.gov  All questions 
should be submitted with the subject line “PCSC Round 6 Question”.  In the event that any 

updates and/or clarification of information is warranted, information will be posted in the 
Contract Reporter under the tab “Documents” for this announcement.  Responses to all 
questions received by October 19, 2023, will be posted on or about November 2, 2023.   

 
Late Applications Will Not Be Accepted.   

 
It is the Applicant’s responsibility to ensure that all materials included in the application have 
been properly prepared and submitted.  The application consists of the completed 
Attachments 1-10 listed below.  You must submit ONE EMAIL with each required 

Attachment as its own pdf file attachment.  Make sure to name each document accordingly 
(i.e. Attachment 1, Attachment 2).  Applications must be submitted via email to 
sch_loan@health.ny.gov  no later than 4:00 pm ET on the date posted on the cover of this 
SOI. Again, all application documents should be submitted together as attachments in ONE 

EMAIL. 
 
Attachments 
 

The following attachments (1-10) include both reference materials and items that must be 
completed and submitted as the PCSC application for this SOI.  If you cannot complete 
Attachment 1 successfully, do not continue any further; you are not an eligible applicant for 

mailto:sch_loan@health.ny.gov
mailto:sch_loan@health.ny.gov
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the PCSC program.  Items in Attachment 6 will require supporting documentation.  This 
documentation will be required for all applicants to justify that the clinicians will be working in 
an underserved area.  All mandatory attachments must be completed to have your 

application be reviewed for a PCSC award. 
  

Attachment 1:  Minimum Eligibility Requirements (mandatory) 
Attachment 2:  Program Specific Questions (mandatory) 

Attachment 3:  Loan Statements (mandatory)    
Attachment 4:  Consent to Disclosure (mandatory)    
Attachment 5:  Employment Letter (mandatory) 
Attachment 6:  Tool to Identify Eligible Sites (for reference only) 

Attachment 7:  Site Information 
Attachment 8:  Current Professional Licenses (mandatory) 

  Attachment 9:  Default Penalty Attestation (mandatory) 
Attachment 10: Tax Issues (for reference only) 

 
Review & Award Process 

 
Applications meeting the guidelines and having submitted all mandatory Attachments will be 

reviewed and evaluated by the Department.  Applications will be evaluated on a Pass/Fail 
basis.  
 
Department staff will review applications in the order in which they are received.   

 
The Department will notify an applicant by e-mail if the application is complete or incomplete.  
If the application is complete, no further action by the Applicant is needed. If the application 
is incomplete, the Department will provide the applicant a list of outstanding items.  The 

applicant will have one opportunity to supply the missing information within 10 business days 
of being notified by the Department via email.  All missing information must be emailed to:  
sch_loan@health.ny.gov.  If the applicant fails to respond to the missing information request 
within this time period, the application will not be processed any further and will not be 

funded.  Because of this, it is advantageous to submit a complete application, and to 
respond to the Department’s email regarding any omissions, as soon as possible.  The due 
date will be clearly stated in the communication from the Department advising that the 
application is incomplete.  No additional information will be accepted after this due date.   

 
A complete application does not guarantee that the Applicant will be awarded funding.  
 
The pool of complete and eligible applications will be awarded in order of the postmark date 

of the valid application until available funding is exhausted. When funding has been depleted 
to a level such that an Applicant’s total requested funding amount cannot be met, the 
Applicant will be offered a reduced award amount.  If the Applicant accepts that amount, no 
further awards will be made.  If the Applicant declines that amount, the next eligible Applicant 

will be offered an award until funds are completely exhausted.  The Department reserves the 
right to allocate funding in ways to best serve the interests of the State. 
 
Award payment will occur when the three-year PCSC service obligation period has ended. 

The Department of Health may elect, for budgeting reasons, to make award payments 

mailto:sch_loan@health.ny.gov
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before the three-year contract obligation period has ended.  The amounts, and recipients, of 
such early award payments shall be at the discretion of the Department of Health. 
 

The Department of Health, acting at the discretion of the Commissioner of Health, reserves 
the right to postpone, change, or waive the service obligation and/or payment amounts in 
individual circumstances where there is a compelling need or hardship due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the Contractor which causes or is likely to cause the Contractor to 

default in the performance/completion of their service obligation under their contract. 
  
The Department anticipates that awards will be announced in December 2023.  
Awardees will have a PCSC contract start date of January 1, 2024. 

 

DOH Contact Name & Address: Cheryl Dallesandro 

   Division of Workforce Transformation 
   New York State Department of Health 

   Corning Tower, Room 1695 
   Albany, New York 12237 
   sch_loan@health.ny.gov 
 

  

mailto:sch_loan@health.ny.gov
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ATTACHMENT 1 
 

Minimum Eligibility Requirements 

 
Solicitation of Interest # 20308 

 
Applicant Name:          

 
Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program  

 
Instructions:  The Clinician who is completing the PCSC service obligation is eligible to 

participate in this program only if they can answer “Yes” to questions (1-12).  Applicants 
are instructed to upload the completed document as Attachment 1 of the application. 

 

1. You are a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien holding an I-155 or I-551 card. 

 

                YES                           NO 

 

2. You will be employed at the intended worksite on or before January 1, 2024. 

 

                YES                           NO 

3. You submitted an Employment Letter (Attachment 5) signed by authorized administrator. 
 

                YES                           NO 
 

3a.
. 

Employment Letter (Attachment 5) includes the appropriate CLASSIFICATION 
STATEMENT, and the text of the CLASSIFICATION STATEMENT has not been altered. 
 

                YES                           NO 

3b. If you indicated your profession as Physician Assistant, then Employment Letter includes 

sentence: “The clinician is a physician assistant, and their primary practice area will be in 
adult medicine, family medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, mental health, geriatrics or 
women’s health.”  
 

                YES                           NO              Not Applicable 

 
 
 

3c. If any of your Intended Worksites are School Based Clinics, then the Employment Letter 
includes the sentence: “The clinician will be serving at a School Based Health Center and 
will be primarily engaged in direct clinical and counseling services, and clinician will meet 
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clinical practice requirements for entire calendar year.” 
 

                YES                           NO                Not Applicable 
 

4. You are currently licensed to practice your profession in New York State.  
 

                YES                           NO 
 

4a.. You have Included a copy of a current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted 
license and registration to practice your profession in the State of New York. 

 
                YES                           NO 

 

4b. If you are a Nurse Practitioner, you have Included a copy of a current, full, permanent, 
unencumbered, unrestricted license and registration to practice as a registered nurse in 
the State of New York AND a certificate to practice as a nurse practitioner in the area of 
adult health, family health, gerontology, pediatrics, psychiatry, or women's health OR 

proof of pending license and/or registration and/or certification. 
 

                YES                           NO                  Not Applicable 
 

5a. You have not been excluded from or terminated by the federal Medicare or Medicaid 
programs (see http://www.omig.ny.gov). 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

5b. If you are a Physician Assistant, you have not been disciplined by the New York State 

Board for Professional Medical Conduct (see  
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct). 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

5c. If you are not a Physician Assistant, you do not have an enforcement action from the New 
York State Board of Regents 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

5d. You are  neither under indictment for, nor have you been convicted of , any felony as 
defined by New York State Penal Code.  To determine if a crime is a felony: 

• Go to this website: http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO: 

• Click on PEN (which is next to Penal) 

• Click on the Article Number next to the crime in question (for example: Article 177 
for Health Care Fraud) 

• Click on the relevant sub-article (for example: 177.25 for Health Care Fraud in the 
first degree) 

• The description will indicate if the crime is a misdemeanor or felony, and its class 
(for example: Health Care Fraud in the first degree is a class B felony). 

 
                TRUE                         FALSE 

http://www.omig.ny.gov/
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO
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5e. You have not had your professional clinical license revoked in any state or territory in the 
United States. 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 
 

6. You are not in breach of a health professional service obligation to the federal 

government, any state government, or a local government. 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

7. You do not have any judgement liens arising from debt to the federal government or any 
state government. 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

8. You are not fulfilling an obligation under any state or federal loan repayment or 

forgiveness program (including, but not limited to: the National Health Service Corps, the 
New York State Primary Care Service Corps, the Public Service Loan Forgiveness 
Program, the Indian Health Service Loan Repayment, the New York State Licensed Social 
Worker Loan Forgiveness Incentive Program) which overlaps or coincides with the three-

year PCSC service obligation period of January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2026 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

9a. All your intended worksites are Active NHSC Sites according to the HRSA Health 
Workforce Connector Website at:   https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/    
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

9b. All your intended worksites each have HPSA scores greater than zero for your 

professional discipline (primary care or dental or mental health) according to the HRSA 
Health Workforce Connector Website at:   https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/    
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

10. You have not previously received, nor are currently receiving, an award from the Primary 
Care Service Corps.  

 
                TRUE                         FALSE 

 

11. If you receive a Primary Care Service Corps award, do you agree to complete and submit 
participant surveys sent to you by the New York State Department of Health? 
 

                 YES                           NO 

12. Employment Letter (Attachment 5) indicates that if you receive a Primary Care Service 
Corps award, your employer agrees to complete and submit Employment Verification 

https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/
https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/
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forms and Administrator Surveys relating your worksite(s), and agrees to notify the 
Department of Health in the event of your termination or separation. 
 

                TRUE                         FALSE 
 

13. Employment Letter (Attachment 5) indicates that you will work for at least 20 clinical hours 
per week for 45 weeks per year. 

 
                TRUE                         FALSE 
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ATTACHMENT  2 

 

Program Specific Questions 
 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 

 
Instructions: Respond to each of the questions in all sections described below when 
completing the Program Specific Questions.  All questions require an answer, and you 
must ensure all answers are legible.  Only questions marked with an asterisk (*) may be 
answered “Not Applicable”.  Applicants are instructed to upload the completed document 

as Attachment 2 of the application. 
 

1 First Name   

2 Middle Name*  

3 Last Name    

4 Prefix (Dr., Mr., Ms., Mrs., Mx., etc.)*:  

5 Profession:  

6 Sub-Specialty*   

7 HPSA Discipline Class (Primary Care or Mental Health or 
Dental) for your Profession  

 

8 Are you applying as a Full-Time Dentist*?:   

9 National Provider Identification (NPI) Number:  

10 New York State Professional License Number:  

11 How many different sites will you be practicing at while 
fulfilling their PCSC service obligation:  

 

12 Employer (Corporate Operator) of Intended Worksite #1.   

13 Site Name and Address of Intended Worksite #1:    

14 Number of Weekly Work Hours at Intended Worksite #1:    

15 Name of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #1:    

16 Work eMail address of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #1:  

17 Employer (Corporate Operator) of Intended Worksite #2*.   

18 Site Name and Address of Intended Worksite #2*:   

19 Number of Weekly Work Hours at Intended Worksite #2*:   

20 Name of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #2*:    

21 Work eMail address of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #2*:  

22 Employer (Corporate Operator) of Intended Worksite #3*:   

23 Site Name and Address of Intended Worksite #3*:   

24 Number of Weekly Work Hours at Intended Worksite #3*:   

25 Name of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #3*:    
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26 Work eMail address of Supervisor at Intended Worksite #3*:  

26 Maiden Name*:  

28 Home Street Address:   

29 Home City:   

30 Home State:   

31 Home ZIP:   

32 eMail Address where correspondence and information about 
PCSC should be sent:  

 

33 Work eMail Address:  

34 Home Telephone Number:   

35 Cellular Telephone Number*:   

36 Please list any other loan repayment programs (including, but 
not limited to: the National Health Service Corps, Indian 
Health Service Loan Repayment, New York State Licensed 

Social Worker Loan Forgiveness Incentive Program, Public 
Service Loan Forgiveness Program) for which you have an 
application pending.  

 

37 Current amount of eligible student loan debt (round down to 

nearest whole dollar). Please upload, as Attachment 3 under 
Pre-Submission Uploads, loan balance statements for all 
current loan debt for undergraduate or graduate education, 
made by or guaranteed by the federal or state government, or 

made by a lending or educational institution approved under 
Title IV of the Federal Higher Education Act.  

 

38 Amount of funding requested from PCSC:  

39 Worksite(s) on October 5, 2023. Corporate Operator, Site 

Name(s), Address(es):  
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ATTACHMENT 3 (Mandatory) 
 

Loan Statements 
For Qualified Educational Debt 

 
Solicitation of Interest # 20308 

 
Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 

 
 
 
Please note this document is a placeholder as loan statements will vary among 

applicants. 
 
Applicants are instructed to upload the most current Loan Statements for qualified educational 
debt* as Attachment 3.  

 
These statements should be no greater than (30) days prior to the date on which the application 
is submitted. 
 

The Loan Statements must show, at a minimum, the following information: 
 

• Evidence of Statement Authenticity (letterhead or statement banner with credit 
corporation logo) 

• Creditor Name 

• Applicant Name 

• Loan Number 

• Loan Statement Date 

• Loan Balance 
 
* Qualified educational debt is defined in Section III.A. Use of Funds of this SOI. 
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ATTACHMENT  4 
 

Consent to Disclosure 
 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 

 
Instructions: Applicants are instructed to upload the completed Consent to Disclosure 
document as Attachment 4 of the application. 
 

 
I authorize and provide my consent for any lender, servicer, the U.S. Department of Education, 
any servicer for the U.S. Department of Education, or other institution or individual to disclose to 
NYS Higher Education Services Corporation (HESC) any information relevant to HESC’s review 

and consideration of my outstanding student loan debt.  I give HESC permission to contact and 
disclose my personal information to any lender, servicer, U.S. Department of Education, any 
servicer for the U.S. Department of Education, or other institution or individual to facilitate 
HESC’s review and consideration of my outstanding student loan debt.  I give HESC permission 

to share my personal information with its agents, business partners, other State and/or federal 
agencies, and other institutions or individuals necessary for the purpose of evaluating my 
student loan debt.  I give HESC permission to use whatever means it deems necessary to verify 
any information I have provided, or will provide, to be used for the purpose of evaluating my 

student loan debt, including but not limited to, documentation submitted or accessed through 
other parties. 
 
 

         
Applicant’s Name (Print) 
 
 

         
Applicant’s Signature       
 
 

         
Date 
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ATTACHMENT 5 (Mandatory Upload) 
 

Solicitation of Interest #20308 

 
Employment Letter Template 

 
 

(EMPLOYER LETTERHEAD) 
(Date) 

 
Dear Primary Care Service Corps Administrator: 

 
It is mutually understood that (clinician name) intends to fulfill a NYS Primary Care Service 
Corps service obligation with (name of employer) during the period January 1, 2024, through 
December 31, 2026.  During that time, (clinician name) will be assigned to: 

 

• (name and address of work site) which is a National Health Service Corps Active Site, for 
___ % of his/her time. (Note: add additional worksite bullets if there are multiple 
worksites, the total should equal 100%) 

 
They will work as a (clinical title and specialty) for approximately ___ clinical hours per week for 
___ weeks per year during that time.  
 

(For clinicians serving at School Based Health Centers only) {The clinician will be serving at a 
School Based Health Center and will be primarily engaged in direct clinical and counseling 
services, and clinician will meet clinical practice requirements for entire calendar year.} 
 

(For Physician Assistants only) {The clinician is a physician assistant, and their primary practice 
area will be in adult medicine, family medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, mental health, geriatrics or 
women’s health.}   
 

(Insert the Appropriate CLASSIFICATION STATEMENT from list below.  Please select the 
appropriate bracketed term to describe your employee.  Do not alter any other text in the 
statement.) 
 

If the applicant receives Primary Care Service Corps award, (name of employer) agrees to 
complete and submit Employment Verification forms and Administrator Surveys relating to the 
applicant and their worksite(s), and agrees to notify the Department of Health in the event of 
termination or separation of the employee applicant. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
(Signature) 

 
(Title of Signatory)  
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CLASSIFICATION STATEMENTS 
 
 

As a {physician assistant} {nurse practitioner} {dentist} {dental hygienist} serving at a 
{primary care} / {dental} facility, this clinician will work at least 20 hours per week (not to 
exceed 39 hours per week), for a minimum of 45 weeks per service year.  The 20 hours per 
week may be compressed into no less than two work days per week, with no more than 12 

hours of work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  In addition, it is understood that: 
 

• At least 16 of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient care in 
the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) specified in the 

clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing 
direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s) or providing direct patient care 

in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as directed by the approved 
service site(s),or performing practice-related administrative activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of the 
minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a total of 
four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Participants do not receive service credit for hours worked over the required 20 hours per 
week, and excess hours cannot be applied to any other work week.  Full-time work done by 

a half-time participant will not change the participant’s half -time status and will not entitle the 
clinician to full-time service credit.  Also, time spent “on call” will not count towards the 
service requirement, except to the extent the provider is directly serving patients during that 
period. 

 
 
As a {certified nurse midwife} {physician assistant providing geriatric services} {nurse 
practitioner providing geriatric services}, this clinician will work at least 20 hours per week 

(not to exceed 39 hours per week), for a minimum of 45 weeks per service year.  The 20 hours 
per week may be compressed into no less than two work days per week, with no more than 12 
hours of work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  In addition, it is understood that: 
 

• At least 11 of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient care in 
the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) specified in the 
clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining nine (9) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing 

direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s), or providing direct patient care 
in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as directed by the approved 
service site(s), or performing practice-related administrative activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of the 

minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a total of 
four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Participants do not receive service credit for hours worked over the required 20 hours per 

week, and excess hours cannot be applied to any other work week.  Full-time work done by 
a half-time participant will not change the participant’s half -time status and will not entitle the 
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clinician to full-time service credit.  Also, time spent “on call” will not count towards the 
service requirement, except to the extent the provider is directly serving patients during that 
period. 

 
 
As a {physician assistant} {nurse practitioner} {clinical psychologist} {licensed clinical 
social worker} {licensed marriage and family therapist} {licensed mental health 

counselor} providing behavioral health services, this clinician will work at least 20 hours per 
week (not to exceed 39 hours per week), for a minimum of 45 weeks per service year.  The 20 
hours per week may be compressed into no less than two work days per week, with no more 
than 12 hours of work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  In addition, it is understood that: 

 

• At least 11 of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient care in 
the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) specified in the 
clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining nine (9) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing 
direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s), or providing direct patient care 
in alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as directed by the approved 
service site(s), or performing practice-related administrative activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of the 
minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a total of 

four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Participants do not receive service credit for hours worked over the required 20 hours per 
week, and excess hours cannot be applied to any other work week.  Full-time work done by 
a half-time participant will not change the participant’s half -time status and will not entitle the 

clinician to full-time service credit.  Also, time spent “on call” will not count towards the 
service requirement, except to the extent the provider is directly serving patients during that 
period. 

 

As a {physician assistant} {nurse practitioners} {certified nurse midwife} serving at a 
Critical Access Hospital (CAH), this clinician will work at least 20 hours per week (not to 
exceed 39 hours per week), for a minimum of 45 weeks per service year.  The 20 hours per 
week may be compressed into no less than two work days per week, with no more than 12 

hours of work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  In addition, it is understood that: 
 

• At least eight (8) of the minimum 20 hours per week much be spent providing direct patient 
care or teaching, mentoring or serving as a preceptor in the CAH-affiliated outpatient 

ambulatory care setting(s) specified in the Clinician’s executed contract, during normally 
scheduled office hours. 

• The remaining 12 hours of the minimum 20 hours per week must be spent providing direct 
patient care or teaching, mentoring or serving as a preceptor at the CAH’s skilled nursing 

facility or swing bed unit, or performing practice-related administrative activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed a total of four (4) hours of the 
minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) shall not exceed a total of 

four (4) hours of the minimum 20 hours per week. 

• Participants do not receive service credit for hours worked over the required 20 hours per 
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week, and excess hours cannot be applied to any other work week.  Full-time work done by 
a half-time participant will not change the participant’s half-time status and will not entitle the 
clinician to full-time service credit.  Also, time spent “on call” will not count towards the 

service requirement, except to the extent the provider is directly serving patients during that 
period. 

 
As a FULL-TIME dentist serving at a dental facility, this clinician will work a minimum of 40 

hours per week, for a minimum of 45 weeks each service year. The 40 hours per week may be 
compressed into no less than four (4) days per week, with no more than 12 hours of work to be 

performed in any 24‐hour period.  In addition, it is understood that: 
 

• At least 32 of the minimum 40 hours per week must be spent providing direct patient care or 
teaching in the outpatient ambulatory care setting(s) at the approved service site(s) specified 

in the clinician’s executed contract, during normally scheduled office hours; 

• The remaining eight (8) hours of the minimum 40 hours per week must be spent providing 
direct patient care or teaching, in the approved service site(s), providing direct patient care in 
alternative settings (e.g., hospitals, nursing homes, shelters) as directed by the approved 

service site(s), or performing practice‐related administrative activities. 

• Practice-related administrative activities shall not exceed eight (8) hours of the minimum 40 
hours per week.  

• Teaching (which includes mentoring and serving as a preceptor) at the approved service site 
shall not exceed eight (8) hours of the minimum 40 hours per week. 

• Participants do not receive service credit for hours worked over the required 40 hours per 
week, and excess hours cannot be applied to any other work week. Also, time spent “on call” 

will not be counted towards the service requirement, except to the extent the provider is 
directly serving patients during that period. 

  



 

24 

 

ATTACHMENT 6 
 

Proof of Site Eligibility 

 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 
 

Instructions: Primary Care Service Corps awardees must be employed at National Health 
Service Corps Active Sites, and the site must have a HPSA score of 1 or more for the 
awardee’s professional discipline (primary care or dental or mental health) 
 

To verify that a site is a National Health Service Corps Approved Site: 
 

1. Go to this website: https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/ 
 

2. In the Search dialog box, click on the Sites radio button (blue dot will appear in circle next 
to word Sites) 
 

3. In the Location box, enter the name of the town, and then click on the choice that 

appears in the drop box (to see all sites in New York State, choose: “New York USA”). 
 

4. Press the [Search] Button. 
 

5. A list of all NHSC Approved Sites in New York State (centered on the requested town) 
will appear in the Search Results on the Site tab. 
 

6. Use the scroll bar to scroll through the Search Results list to find the intended work site. 

 
7. If the right column of the Search Results for the intended site shows the words “NHSC 

Active”, or “NHSC/Nurse Corps Active” or NHSC/Nurse Corps/STAR Active” then the site 
is an NHSC Active Site. 

 
8. Click on the name of the site to activate the link and display site details. 

 
9. Verify that the address of the site is the address of the intended site (some site names 

are vague, so please check that you have found the correct site). 
 

10.  Verify that the NHSC HPSA score (top right corner of screen) for the applicant’s 
professional discipline (primary care or dental or mental health) is 1 or more.  If the 

NHSC HPSA score shows “NA” for the applicant’s discipline, then this site is NOT an 
allowable worksite for the applicant. 
 

11. Print the screen (or save screenshot as a PDF) showing site name, site address and site 

HPSA scores, and submit with the application as Attachment 8 Site Information. 
 

12. Repeat steps above for each intended worksite. 
 

https://connector.hrsa.gov/connector/


 

25 

 

 
The Site Status MUST indicate “NHSC Active” and MUST have a NHSC HPSA score of 1 or 
more for the applicant’s discipline to be an eligible worksite for the PCSC Loan Repayment 

Program. 
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ATTACHMENT 7 (Mandatory) 
 

Site Information 
 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program (Round 6) 

 
 
 
Please note this document is a placeholder, as site information will vary among applicants. 

 
Applicants are instructed to upload the site information obtained from the instructions in 
Attachment 6: Proof of Site Eligibility as Attachment 7.  
 

The Site Information must show, at a minimum, the following information: 
 

• Site Name 

• Site Address 

• NHSC HPSA Scores 
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Attachment 8 (Mandatory) 
 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 

 
Current Professional Licenses 

 
 

*Please note this document is a placeholder as current professional licenses will vary among 
applicants.* 
 
Applicants are instructed to upload a photocopy or printout of any professional licenses currently 

held. 
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ATTACHMENT 9 (Mandatory) 

 
Default Penalty Attestation 

       

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 
 

 
Instructions: Applicants are instructed to upload this signed document as Attachment 9 
of the application. 
 

There are significant financial consequences in the event a clinician fails to complete their three-
year service obligation.   

 
These default provisions are defined in the Master Grant Contract as follows:  

In the event of default, the physician will, within one year of defaulting, repay the State of 
New York the greater of either $31,000 or the sum of: 

• The proportionate amount of the loan repayments paid by the State of New 
York to the physician representing any period of obligated service not 

completed; AND 

• $7,500 multiplied by the number of months of obligated service not completed; 
AND 

• Interest on the above amount calculated from the date of default at the 

maximum legal prevailing rate, as determined by the Treasurer of the United 
States, from the date of the breach.  

Uncollectable accounts, or failure to fully repay the amounts stated below, will be 
referred to the New York State Attorney General’s Office for possible legal action. 
 
In the event that the Applicant, through any cause, fails to perform any of the terms, 

covenants or promises of any contract resulting from this SOI, the Department acting for and 
on behalf of the State, shall thereupon have the right to terminate the contract by giving 
notice in writing of the fact and date of such termination to the Applicant. 

 
I certify that I have reviewed this document and understand how default penalties are applied in relation t o 
this SOI.  Signature of Applicant:  

 

 
         __________________ 
Signature        Date 
 

 
         
Name (printed) 
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For clarity, the following table shows the theoretical MINIMUM amount a default penalty 
could be, using an Interest rate of 0%, an award amount of $30,000, and $0 in payments 
made from the Department of Health to the awardee at the time of default: 

 

Period (in months) of 
Obligated Service Period Not 

Completed 
Dollars Defaulting Awardee 

must pay to Department 

36 $270,000.00 

35 $261,500.00 

34 $273,000.00 

33 $264,500.00 

32 $256,000.00 

31 $247,500.00 

30 $239,000.00 

29 $230,500.00 

28 $222,000.00 

27 $213,500.00 

26 $205,000.00 

25 $196,500.00 

24 $188,000.00 

23 $179,500.00 

22 $191,000.00 

21 $182,500.00 

20 $174,000.00 

19 $165,500.00 

18 $157,000.00 

17 $148,500.00 

16 $140,000.00 

15 $131,500.00 

14 $123,000.00 

13 $114,500.00 

12 $106,000.00 

11 $97,500.00 

10 $109,000.00 

9 $100,500.00 

8 $92,000.00 

7 $83,500.00 

6 $75,000.00 

5 $66,500.00 

4 $58,000.00 

3 $49,500.00 

2 $41,000.00 

1 $32,500.00 
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ATTACHMENT  10 
 

Tax Issues 
 

Solicitation of Interest # 20308 
 

Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan Repayment Program 

 

Funds to support loan repayment under the Primary Care Service Corps (PCSC) Loan 
Repayment Program may be currently exempt from federal and state taxes. If you receive 
monies for loan repayment, you should not be issued a 1099 statement.  Please consult your 
tax professional for more information about your specific tax situation. 

Section 10908 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PL 111-148) addresses 
federal taxability of state loan repayment programs that are not part of the Federal State 
Loan Repayment (SLRP) program. This section puts the state loan repayment programs on 

par with the federal/state SLRP programs in terms of federal taxability. The text is as follows: 

SEC. 10908. Exclusion for assistance provided to participants in state student loan 
repayment programs for certain health professionals. 

(a) In general —Paragraph (4) of section 108(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 is 

amended to read as follows: 

''(4) Payments under national health service corps loan repayment program and certain state 

loan repayment programs.—In the case of an individual, gross income shall not include any 
amount received under section 338B(g) of the Public Health Service Act, under a State 
program described in section 338I of such Act, or under any other State loan repayment or 
loan forgiveness program that is intended to provide for the increased availability of 

healthcare services in underserved or health professional shortage areas (as determined by 
such State).'' 

(b) Effective date — The amendment made by this section shall apply to amounts received 
by an individual in taxable years beginning after December 31, 2008. 

PLEASE CONSULT YOUR TAX PROFESSIONAL FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT 
YOUR SPECIFIC TAX SITUATION. 

 
 
 


